Record Attendance at the Annual FM Staff Recognition

2019 Award Winners:

Star Award - Jim Karpa

Custodian of the Year Award - Ruth Mullen

Team Award - Contract Administration Group: Tawanda Stamps, Cheri Hoffer, and Shannon Pisano

Rookie Award - Kayla Wengerd

Now celebrating its second season, the Annual Staff Recognition Event drew in excess of 300 attendees – compared to the more than 200 for last year's inaugural program. Trades, custodians, and staff from across the Division filled the main ballroom of the Alumni Hall in anticipation of this year’s award winners.

Highlighting the morning was the address from Senior Vice Chancellor for Business & Operations, Greg Scott.  Speaking about the numerous “remarkable achievements” that are clearly visible across campus. Scott called out the work being done at Salk Hall, Forbes Street Market, the new Community Engagement Center in Homewood, among other facilities, and noted several LED lighting projects that are already providing energy savings. 

“Equally, if not more important for the campus operation,” the Senior Vice Chancellor added, “Is our custodial services team. They’ve done a terrific job not only with cleaning, but in their emergency response efforts, and strong support of what is really a never-ending demand for event set ups across the University.”

The custodial staff comprise fully half of the FM personnel. To further recognize their work effort, a new Custodian of the Year award category was created. The first winner was Ruth Mullen, a custodian in the Cathedral of Learning. 

A record number of nominees proved a daunting but welcome challenge for the voting committee. The Rookie award went to Kayla Wengerd of Tech Services, Team Award winners were from the Contract Administration group, including: Tawanda Stamps, Cheri Hoffer, and Shannon Pisano.  The Star Award was received by Project Engineer, Jim Karpa.